Dear citizens of the United Kingdom – open letter

Dear citizens of the United Kingdom,

As friends of your country, we are looking with growing anxiety at the unfolding of Brexit disaster that will be harmful for both Britain and Europe. We are reluctant to intervene in your domestic politics, but we cannot help but notice that the opinion polls show a growing number of voters who want an opportunity to re-consider the Brexit decision, now that it is clear that Brexit is very different to the promises made by the Leave campaign nearly three years ago.

Nevertheless we regret the decision made by the British people we understand the need to respect it. Leaving without a deal would be a disaster for everyone involved – UK and EU citizens alike. Any British decision to remain in the EU would be warmly welcomed by us and we would work with you to reform and improve the European Union, so that it works better in the interests of all citizens.

Indeed, should the UK decide to withdraw the article 50 letter received by the President of the European Council, then we as Members of the European Parliament would support it. We have greatly appreciated the enormous impact British politicians and citizens have contributed to the European project over the last 40 years. We would miss the extraordinary expertise of our British colleagues.

We ask you to reconsider to leave our Union in the interest of the next generation of young people, British and Europeans, who will lose out on the opportunities of living, loving and working together. Brexit will weaken all of us. We want you to stay. Together, we are stronger and together we can build a stronger Europe.

Maria Arena, S&D, Belgium
Laima Andrikiene, EPP, Lithuania
Petras Auštrevicius, ALDE, Lithuania
Wim van de Camp, EPP, Netherlands
Birgit Collin-Langen, EPP, Germany
Thierry Cornillet, ALDE, France
Clara Eugenia Aguilera García, S&D, Spain
Éric Andrieu, S&D, France
Margrete Auken, Greens, Denmark
Beatriz Becerra Basterrechea, ALDE, Spain
Brando Benifei, S&D, Italy
Pervenche Berès, S&D, France
Franc Bogovic, EPP, Slovenia
Michal Boni, EPP, Poland
Mercedes Bresso, S&D, Italy
Elmar Brok, EPP, Germany
Udo Bullman, S&D, Germany
Rainer Bütikofer, Greens, Germany
Daniel Caspary, EPP, Germany
Silvia Costa, S&D, Italy
Mady Delvaux-Stehres, S&D, Luxembourg
Christian Ehler, EPP, Germany
Tanja Fajon, S&D, Slovenia
José Inácio Faria, EPP, Portugal
Fredrick Federley, ALDE, Sweden
Karl-Heinz Florenz, EPP, Germany
Eugen Freund, S&D, Austria
Aleksander Gabelic, S&D, Sweden
Michael Gahler, EPP, Germany
Evelyne Gebhardt, S&D, Germany
Stefan Gehrold, EPP, Germany
Jens Geier, S&D, Germany
Lidia Joanna Geringer de Oedenberg, S&D, Poland
Sven Giegold, Greens, Germany
Jens Gieseke, EPP, Germany
Karine Gloanec Maurin, S&D, France
Ana Maria Gomes, S&D, Portugal
Maria Grapini, S&D, Romania
Karoline Graswander-Hainz, S&D, Austria
Ingeborg Gräßle, EPP, Germany
Enrique Guerrero Salom, S&D, Spain
Sylvie Guillaume, S&D, France
Jytte Guteland, S&D, Sweden
Marian Harkin, ALDE, Ireland
Rebecca Harms, Greens, Germany
Anna Hedh, S&D, Sweden
Maria Heubuch, Greens, Germany
Gunnar Hökmark, EPP, Sweden
Peter Jahr, EPP, Germany
Benedek Jávor, Greens, Hungary
Petr Ježek, ALDE, Czechia
Agnes Jongerius, S&D, Netherlands
Petra Kammerevert, S&D, Germany
Karin Kadenbach, S&D, Austria
Eva Kaili, S&D, Greece
Dietmar Köster, S&D, Germany
Jeppe Kofod, S&D, Denmark
Peter Kouroumbashev, S&D, Bulgaria
Andrej Kowatschew, EPP, Bulgaria
Constanze Krehl, S&D, Germany
Miapetra Kumpula-Natri, S&D, Finland
Miltiadis Kyrkos, S&D, Greece
Ilhan Kyuchyuk, ALDE, Bulgaria
Philippe Lamberts, Greens, Belgium
Werner Langen, EPP, Germany
Jo Leinen, S&D, Germany
Boguslaw Liberadzki, S&D, Poland
Peter Liese, EPP, Germany
Norbert Lins, EPP, Germany
Olle Ludvigsson, S&D, Sweden
Andrejs Mamikins, S&D, Latvia
Lukas Mandl, EPP, Austria
Thomas Mann, EPP, Germany
Florent Marcellesi, Greens, Spain
António Marinho e Pinto, ALDE, Portugal
Gesine Meissner, ALDE, Germany
Tilly Metz, Greens, Luxembourg
Miroslavs Mitrofanovs, Greens, Latvia
Marlene Mizzi, S&D, Malta
Angelika Mlinar, ALDE, Austria
Csaba Molnár, S&D, Hungary
Momchil Nekov, S&D, Bulgaria
Norbert Neuser, S&D, Germany
Dan Nica, S&D, Romania
Angelika Niebler, EPP, Germany
Péter Niedermüller, S&D, Hungary
Ivari Padar, S&D, Estonia
Maite Pagazaurtundúa, ALDE, Spain
Pier Antonio Panzeri, S&D, Italy
Emilian Pavel, S&D, Romania
Morten Helveg Petersen, ALDE, Denmark
Markus Pieper, EPP, Germany
Georgi Pirinski, S&D, Bulgaria
Pavel Poc, S&D, Czechia
Godelieve Quisthoudt-Rowohl, EPP, Germany
Dennis Radtke, EPP, Germany
Jozo Radoš, ALDE, Croatia
Evelyn Regner, S&D, Austria
Terry Reintke, Greens, Germany
Christine Revault d’Allonnes-Bonnefoy, S&D, France
Inmaculada Rodríguez-Piñero, S&D, Spain
Paul Rübig, EPP, Austria
Manuel dos Santos, S&D, Portugal
Judith Sargentini, Greens, Netherlands
Petri Sarvamaa, EPP, Finland
Elly Schlein, S&D, Italy
Sven Schulze, EPP, Germany
Joachim Schuster, S&D, Germany
Ricardo Serrão Santos, S&D, Portugal
Peter Simon, S&D, Germany
Davor Škrlec, Greens, Croatia
Monika Smolková, S&D, Slovakia
Bart Staes, Greens, Belgium
Sergei Stanishev, S&D, Bulgaria
Ivan Štefanec, EPP, Slovakia
Andreas Schwab, EPP, Germany
Jordi Solé, Greens, Spain
Renate Sommer, EPP, Germany
Tibor Szanyi, S&D, Hungary
Paul Tang, S&D, Netherlands
Róza Gräfin von Thun und Hohenstein, EPP, Poland
Isabelle Thomas, S&D, France
Yana Toom, ALDE, Estonia
Patrizia Toia, S&D, Italy
Tonino Picula, S&D, Croatia
Claudiu-Ciprian Tanasescu, S&D, Romania
Nils Torvalds, ALDE, Finland
Ramon Tremosa i Balcells, ALDE, Spain
Helga Trüpel, Greens, Germany
Marita Ulvskog, S&D, Sweden
Ernest Urtasun, Greens, Spain
Ivo Vajgl, ALDE, Slovenia
Monika Vana, Greens, Austria
Tom Vandenkendelaere, EPP, Belgium
Kathleen Van Brempt, S&D, Belgium
Sophie in ’t Veld, ALDE, Netherlands
Sabine Verheyen, EPP, Germany
Renate Weber, ALDE, Romania
Josef Weidenholzer, S&D, Austria
Martina Werner, S&D, Germany
Cecilia Wikström, ALDE, Sweden
Anna Záborská, EPP, Slovakia
Boris Zala, S&D, Slovakia
Maria Gabriela Zoana, S&D, Romania
Carlos Zorrinho, S&D, Portugal